The claim, and what Kling itself now says

The announcement that Kling 4.0's API had launched did not come from Kling. It came from SelfyzAI, a video and image generation platform, in a press release distributed by EIN Presswire on 23 October. The release says the API service officially launched on 22 October and is gradually opening to enterprise customers and developers worldwide, and that SelfyzAI, which says it took part in the model's first internal beta, has put Kling 4.0 in its workspace model picker. The release carries EIN Presswire's standard disclaimer that the content is provided as is, without warranty, and is the sole responsibility of its author.

That was the whole of the evidence when this story was first drafted. It is not the whole of it now. Kling's own developer documentation carries a notice headed “Kling 4.0 API Is Now Available for Early Access”: a banner and an auto-opening dialog on the API updates page, read first-hand on 23 October. Kling itself is advertising an early-access rollout of the 4.0 API. The launch claim is no longer only an integrator's.

But the notice does less than its headline. It carries no date, and the dated changelog entries on the same page stop at 15 September 2026, so nothing on Kling's pages confirms the release's 22 October launch date. It states no price and names no eligibility requirement; the only step it offers is a “Get Early Access” button. And an early-access advertisement is not a statement of general availability. For that, Kling's other pages are the check, and they do not agree with the banner.

Three Kling pages, three different answers

The developer platform's front page still runs a hero reading “Kling 4.0 API Coming Soon”. The 4.0 model card on the same platform carries the status label “Preview”; the neighbouring 3.0 card is labelled “HOT”.

The pricing page is the most explicit of the three. Its “Coming Soon” section states: “Kling 4.0 API access is not yet available. The prices below are for preview purposes only and cannot be used to submit requests before launch. The official launch date and pricing will be announced separately.”

So the same vendor's pages describe the same product as available for early access, coming soon, and not yet available. The three are not necessarily irreconcilable: an early-access programme can exist behind a business-inquiry process while public access is still pending. But nothing on the pages spells out that reconciliation, and the pricing page's version is the one with operational content. What is missing around it is everything a developer would normally read next. There is no Kling 4.0 endpoint or request-schema page anywhere in the API documentation; the calls themselves are not described. The model is named in the documentation's video capability map, under the identifier “kling-4.0”, a capability table rather than a schema, and in the preview price table. The pricing page warns that the resource packages it sells are “not compatible with Kling 4.0 or Kling 4.0 Flash”, and directs early-access seekers to a business-inquiries card, after which Kling says it will contact them. No eligibility criteria are published.

Early access, on Kling's own pages as of 23 October, amounts to a banner, a business-inquiry form, and a price list that cannot be spent.

A price list that cannot be spent yet

The preview table prices Kling 4.0 per second of video. Without video input, it charges 1.0 units per second at 720p and 1.5 units at 1080p; with video input, 0.6 and 0.9 units. The cash view of the same table shows $0.157 and $0.235 per second for the first pair, $0.094 and $0.141 for the second. Kling 4.0 Flash is “TBA” in every column, and 4K has no price in any row. The preview rules bill on total video duration: where the input is longer than the output, the charge is the unit price multiplied by input plus output duration; where it is not, twice the output duration.

Those cash figures match, to the cent, the per-second rates WaveSpeedAI publishes for its own hosted Kling 4.0 endpoints, the subject of the next section. Both pages publish the numbers; neither page explains the match, and this article does not guess at one. The practical difference is not the numbers but the status attached to them: WaveSpeedAI's are the prices of a service it sells today, while Kling's identical figures come labelled as preview prices that “cannot be used to submit requests before launch”.

The third-party routes are different products

Programmatic Kling 4.0 access does exist today, in two distinct third-party forms that should not be conflated with each other, or with a Kling developer contract.

WaveSpeedAI operates a separately hosted, usage-billed API. Its published rates are $0.157 per second at 720p and $0.235 at 1080p for text-to-video, image-to-video and video-extend, and $0.094 / $0.141 per counted second for reference-video and video-edit routes. Those are a seller's prices for its own endpoints, not Kling's official API prices, even where the numbers happen to match Kling's preview table.

useapi.net works differently: by its own description, it routes Kling 4.0 through a user's own Kling AI subscription. It is also the tracker whose dated observations framed the first version of this story: its page, updated 20 October, still listed Kling 4.0 on Kling's official developer API as “not sold yet”, and the developer site as coming soon as of 18 October. Two disclosures belong with that record. useapi.net both tracks Kling's developer API and sells the subscription-routed access just described, so its listing is not a neutral source. And its observations are now history: they predate Kling's early-access notice and do not outrank Kling's own pages. What they still establish is the speed of the change; within days, the official status moved from “not sold yet” in third-party tracking to an early-access banner from Kling itself.

What the model promises, and what the API has not shown

The capabilities are not the weak part of this story; the API surface is. Kling's own model documentation specifies native generation of 3 to 30 seconds, up to 10 keyframe inputs, and Omni Reference with up to 15 combined reference inputs, and its user-guide spec table lists stereo, 2-channel audio. Those are Kling-official descriptions of the model. Whether the early-access API exposes all of them is unestablished, for the simple reason that no API documentation exists to check them against. Advertised model capabilities are not proof that every early-access account can call every feature.

The roadmap items from September are still roadmap. Kling's capability map marks 10-bit HDR as coming soon for 1080p and 4K, and the user guide still marks 10-bit HDR output “(coming soon)”; the capability map's resolution row lists 4K itself with a “coming soon” tooltip. The creator-facing release note linked from the early-access dialog says Kling 4.0 “will officially launch in October”, a page that does not state a year, and that 4.0 Flash became available to a limited group for early access on September 28. Neither line is an API schedule, and neither confirms the integrator's 22 October date.

What to do with this now

If you need Kling 4.0 inside a pipeline today, the testable options are the third-party endpoints with published prices. Evaluate them as products in their own right: verify upstream authorisation, applicable terms, model identity, limits and billing before committing production workloads to any of them. If what you need is a direct Kling developer contract, the only door Kling currently shows is the business-inquiry route; confirm early-access eligibility and official pricing with Kling, because neither is published. When Kling publishes the complete 4.0 API documentation, and the official launch date and pricing its pricing page promises to announce separately, this story changes from a status question into a product one. This article will then carry a dated update note rather than a quiet edit, the same treatment the 15 October article received today.

Sources

  1. [1] Kling API updates page, Kling developer documentation — read first-hand in a live browser on 23 October 2026: the banner and auto-opening dialog headed “Kling 4.0 API Is Now Available for Early Access”, with a “Get Early Access” button and links to the API documentation and the Kling 4.0 release note. The notice carries no date, price or eligibility wording; the page's dated changelog entries top out at 15 September 2026.Read source
  2. [2] Kling developer platform, Kling — read first-hand on 23 October 2026: the “Kling 4.0 API Coming Soon” hero slide and the Kling 4.0 model card labelled “Preview” (the 3.0 card is labelled “HOT”), described as supporting dynamic motions, Omni reference, native 30s-generation and multiple keyframes.Read source
  3. [3] Kling developer pricing page, Kling — read first-hand on 23 October 2026: the “Coming Soon” section stating “Kling 4.0 API access is not yet available. The prices below are for preview purposes only and cannot be used to submit requests before launch. The official launch date and pricing will be announced separately.” Also the source for the preview per-second prices (1.0 / 1.5 units without video input; 0.6 / 0.9 with video input; cash view $0.157 / $0.235 and $0.094 / $0.141; 4.0 Flash “TBA”; no 4K price), the preview billing formulas (unit price × input plus output duration when input exceeds output; unit price × twice the output duration otherwise), the warning that listed resource packs are “not compatible with Kling 4.0 or Kling 4.0 Flash”, the standard packages shown ($700 for 5,000 units up to $7,560 for 60,000 units, 180-day validity), and the business-inquiries route for early access.Read source
  4. [4] Kling developer documentation, video capability map — read first-hand on 23 October 2026: Kling 4.0 listed under the model identifier “kling-4.0”, summarised as native 30s generation, dynamic motions, omni reference and precise control over narrative beats; parameters include text, image and video input, 3–30s duration, 720P / 1080P / 4K resolution (4K tooltip: coming soon) and 10-bit HDR (tooltip: coming soon for 1080P and 4K). A capability table, not a request schema; the API documentation contains no 4.0 endpoint page.Read source
  5. [5] Kling 4.0 user guide, Kling — read in full first-hand during this article's verification: the official model spec table for the creative platform, stating generation duration 3–30s, up to 10 keyframe inputs, Omni Reference with up to 15 combined reference inputs, “Audio Specifications: Stereo, 2-channel”, and 10-bit HDR output marked “(coming soon)”. A creative-platform manual, not API documentation.Read source
  6. [6] Kling 4.0 release note, Kling developer platform — read first-hand on 23 October 2026: states “The all-new Kling 4.0 will officially launch in October” (the page does not state a year) and that Kling 4.0 Flash became available to a limited group of users for early access on September 28 (no year stated). Creator-facing; contains no API endpoint, pricing or eligibility detail.Read source
  7. [7] SelfyzAI via EIN Presswire, “SelfyzAI Among First to Integrate Kling 4.0 API: New Model Available in Workspace”, 23 October 2026 — the integrator launch claim this article checks: the release states the Kling 4.0 API service officially launched on 22 October 2026 and is gradually opening, and that SelfyzAI took part in the model's first internal beta. EIN Presswire's own disclaimer on the release states the content is provided “as is” without warranty and is the sole responsibility of the author.Read source
  8. [8] WaveSpeedAI, “Kling 4.0 vs WAN 3.0: Specs, References, Edit and Extend Compared” and its Kling 4.0 API pages — seller-published prices, checked 23 October 2026: $0.157 per second at 720p and $0.235 at 1080p for text-to-video, image-to-video and video-extend; $0.094 / $0.141 per counted second for reference-video and video-edit routes. WaveSpeedAI operates a separately hosted, usage-billed API; these are its prices, not Kling's official API prices.Read source
  9. [9] useapi.net, “Kling API: Kling 4.0, v3, O3 and Lip-Sync Video”, page updated 20 October 2026 — a service that both tracks Kling's developer API and sells access routed through a user's own Kling AI subscription (dual role disclosed in the article). Its page listed Kling 4.0 on Kling's official developer API as “not sold yet” at 720p and 1080p, the developer site as coming soon as of 18 October 2026, and developer video packs from $700 for 5,000 units with no Kling 4.0 included. Historical observations, predating Kling's early-access notice.Read source
  10. [10] ALFW, “Kling 4.0 Is Fully Available. Its Broadcast Spec Still Is Not.”, 15 October 2026 — our earlier reporting: general availability on web, MCP and CLI, with 10-bit HDR output and enterprise API access still listed as coming soon at that date. That article now carries a dated update note recording the early-access advertisement and pointing to this follow-up.Read source