One launch, told in stages
Amazon announced Alexa shopping by text message on November 6, 2026, but access initially extends only to a small group of invited US customers. The company says it plans to invite millions more in the coming weeks. Its announcement also describes a broader US rollout, without providing an initial user count, a firm general-availability date or confirmation that every US customer will receive access.
What those invited customers get is the existing assistant in a new place. A single text can hand over a mixed list ("I'm out of dog food, need a birthday gift for my sister, and we're low on paper towels") and the assistant works through all three, messaging back suggestions as it finds them. It can run a weekly grocery order, turn a photo of a recipe into a cart, track a price, manage lists, answer "where's my package?" and show up to a year of price history. Requests started in the thread are meant to carry over to the app, the website and Echo devices, although Amazon describes that handoff, too, as something it is "rolling out."
Secondary accounts citing Amazon's Shop by Text FAQ describe additional requirements, including a personal Amazon account, a verified mobile number and RCS messaging. The desk could not independently inspect the FAQ. Amazon's demonstration shows an RCS conversation, but that image alone does not establish whether RCS is mandatory. These reported requirements should be confirmed against Amazon's documentation before readers rely on them.
The sign-up doubles as a marketing list
Customers without an invitation can register on Amazon's landing page to receive news and offers by text. Amazon says those who sign up will be among the first to learn when additional invitations are sent. The announcement does not describe a separate invitation-only notification option without promotional messages, nor does it promise that registration guarantees access. The sign-up therefore serves both as an invitation-update channel and a marketing-text subscription.
Who says yes to the purchase?
Amazon describes Alexa shopping by text as capable of finding products, comparing options, building a cart and completing purchases. But the announcement does not present a single, comprehensive explanation of when customers must approve an order.
In Amazon's reorder example, Alexa buys with the customer's approval. The company's demonstration shows a checkout summary followed by a customer tapping "Place order," after which the conversation displays an order confirmation and an "Undo order" option. That demonstrates an approval step in the illustrated flow, not a guarantee that every purchase follows the same process.
Amazon separately describes an auto-buy capability that can complete a purchase when a product reaches the desired price. The announcement does not fully explain how advance authorization works, which spending limits apply or whether a final confirmation is always required. Customers should verify those controls before enabling automated purchases.

The numbers belong to the old service
Amazon says more than 400 million customers used Alexa for Shopping during the preceding 12 months and that the number of customers using its agentic shopping features increased more than eightfold since January. Both figures describe the existing Alexa shopping service, which was available through Amazon's app, website and supported devices before the November text-message launch. Neither measures adoption of the new messaging channel. Amazon also does not provide the starting count or a detailed definition of the agentic-feature metric.
The same post calls the assistant "the best personal AI agent for shopping." No comparison is offered for that either.
One thread for orders, updates and deals
The launch arrives ahead of the holiday shopping season, when Amazon has an obvious commercial interest in making purchases easier. A text conversation also gives Alexa a direct channel for recommendations, order updates and promotional offers.
"Over time," Amazon says, the Alexa Shopping contact "will also include your Amazon order updates, delivery notifications, and deals — all in the same thread as your shopping conversations." Order updates are service messages; deals are promotion, delivered in the same thread.
TechCrunch separately reported that Amazon blocked Meta's Muse from querying its shopping site in September. That dispute illustrates the competitive importance of access to product listings, but it does not establish why Amazon launched shopping by text.
Amazon's announcement does not explain how products from outside Amazon, including Shop Direct listings, are ranked against products sold on its own marketplace. It also does not specify whether advertising or sponsored recommendations will appear inside the text conversation. Those are unanswered product-design questions, not evidence of undisclosed preferential treatment.
Before using the service, check what shopping preferences Alexa retains, whether conversation and photo histories can be reviewed or deleted, and how purchase approvals work. Amazon's announcement does not specify retention periods for text conversations or photos, and the available materials do not establish that users can configure a universal approval rule.
Sources
- [1] Amazon, "Alexa for Shopping can now help you shop over text", official announcement, 6 November 2026, read in full for this article. The rollout wording, sign-up wording, approval and auto-buy descriptions, learning claims, continuity wording and the 400 million and eightfold figures all come from this post.Read source
- [2] TechCrunch, "After blocking Muse, Amazon now lets users text Alexa to help them shop", 6 November 2026. Reports that Amazon blocked Meta's Muse from querying its shopping site in September, and notes the rollout lands just before the holiday shopping season.Read source
- [3] Unite.AI, "Amazon Adds Text-Based Purchasing to Alexa for Shopping", 6 November 2026. One of the secondary accounts citing Amazon's Shop by Text FAQ for the reported account, verified-mobile-number and RCS requirements; the desk could not independently inspect the FAQ.Read source
- [4] PPC Land, "Amazon's Alexa for Shopping takes orders by text, invite-only for now", November 2026. A close reading of the announcement's staged rollout wording; also notes the announcement says nothing about advertising inside the thread or how products from outside stores rank against Amazon's own.Read source